FOOTBALL | Trinidad and Tobago Football Association

 AFFILIATE Trinidad and Tobago Football Association
 PRESIDENT David John- Williams (AG)
 SECRETARY Justin Latapy
 CONTACT (868) 623-9500
 FAX (868) 925-8150
 MAILING ADDRESS P.O Box 400 Maraval Road, Port of Spain
Meeting Place: #1 Ana street Woodbrook

It is rare for a team to win no trophies yet be revered by a nation. It is even rarer for them to be still spoken of four decades later.

Read more: Mucurapo 1978, a team of lore

Stan Kroenke, John Henry and the Glazer family learned the hard way that just because they play football in England, you can't run a Premier League team as if it was in America.

Read more: Opinion: US owners find American-style greed doesn't play well in European soccer

FORMER Trinidad and Tobago footballer Clyde Leon has died. The football fraternity expressed words of sympathy on Facebook on Wednesday morning.

Leon, 37, had 48 caps for the national team after making his debut in 2008. At club level, Leon was a long-serving member of W Connection and worked as an assistant coach under Stuart Charles-Fevrier after retiring.

The former midfielder was from Laventille. The details of his death are not clear.


THE National Football Coaches of TT (NFCTT) is eagerly seeking a place among the board of the directors in the TT Football Association (TTFA).

Read more: Football coaches group seeks place on TTFA board

In the final months of 2018, two contrasting views were put forward outlining the battle between the established order of sport governance and commercial entities.

Read more: Michael Pavitt: Super League failure a win for European sport model

The following is a press statement from the National Football Coaches of Trinidad and Tobago (NFCTT):

The National Football Coaches of Trinidad and Tobago (NFCTT) put positive, pro-active governance on the front burner again this week, as its steering committee met with Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) president Brian Lewis on 5 January 2021.

Discussions with Lewis centred primarily around ways to improve planning and transparency in sports administration, and the potential negative social effects from the extended period of restrictions on sporting activity.

The steering committee was led in talks by Jefferson George, who was voted interim president on 20 November 2020. At present, Wayne Sheppard is interim first vice-president while Dernelle Mascall (interim second vice-president), Curtis Orr (interim treasurer) and Rayshawn Mars (interim general secretary) were also given portfolios.

The remaining steering committee members are Angus Eve, Clayton Morris, and Richard Hood.

The steering committee has already presented its draft constitution to the Fifa-appointed normalisation committee along with a letter of intent for full recognition within the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA).

Among other business, the NFCTT steering committee has also embarked on a Covid relief hamper distribution. Donations from members were put towards the purchase and delivery of hampers to ex-coaches football administrators and officials.

Next on the NFCTT’s agenda is a meeting with TTFA technical director Dion La Foucade to discuss the potential for synergy between the local football body and the coaching association. This meeting is carded for Saturday 16 January.

The NFCTT also met with TTFRA vice-president Osmond Downer, who offered valuable constitutional advice, while courtesy calls and messages of support were received from former coaching stalwart Errol McFarlane and veteran administrator Lennox ‘Bullets’ Pilgrim.